28.08.2014
C·A·P Home · English · About the C·A·P
CAP Home

Goals - Strategies for the 21st Century


Whether they are dealing with the “war on terror”, globalization processes or EU’s neighbourhood issues, today’s decision-makers are confronted with multiple challenges that have a direct impact on citizens’ lives. Policymaking issues are increasingly complex, and social and political actors at both the domestic and international levels enjoy limited room for manoeuvre. Short terms of office often make it difficult for politicians to focus their sights on longer-term, broader developments. Economic actors are increasingly asked to take positions in political and ethical debates.

In the world of the 21st century, there is a growing, daily need for long-term strategy consulting and for soundly researched reference points for policy, business and society. Only the leaders who can recognize trends today, and take decisions designed for the next five to ten years, will have lasting political success.

Political science in Germany must also take up this challenge. The discipline possesses great reserves of understanding, but all too often lacks the knowledge of how to communicate that understanding in order to find timely solutions. The scientific community needs to find more than just answers to theoretical questions. Academically sound political advisors should also help to solve political problems of the present. By this means, they could make important contributions to democratic decision-making processes.


Chancellor Angela Merkel and Prof. Dr. Werner Weidenfeld.

As an independent think tank, the C·A·P uses its unique working methods of "applied policy research" to close the gap between politics and academia.

The Center for Applied Policy Research is the largest university-based institution in Germany for political advising on European and international issues. It was founded in 1995 by Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Werner Weidenfeld as a home for practice-oriented, externally-financed research, aligned with the chair for political systems and European unification of Munich’s Geschwister-Scholl Institute for Political Science at the Ludwig Maximilian University.

The C·A·P draws its operating funds from projects and partnerships with foundations, government institutions and corporations. The Center brings together academic understanding in order to work out strategies and options for current issues in politics. The Center's Research Groups and projects combine international and interdisciplinary analysis with concrete suggestions for political practice.

The C·A·P uses this approach to advise political leaders on decisions about different issues. Simultaneously, it communicates the results of its work to the public and to a large number of opinion shapers via publications and the Internet.

Topics & Projects >


Goals

Topics & Projects

Structure

Partners & Network

Resources

Staff

Communication

Contact Us


Design EGENCY · Optimized by Keywordcrossing.com

C·A·P Home > Über das C·A·P

Fokus der Arbeit am C·A·P

Strategien für das 21. Jahrhundert

Ob "Krieg gegen den Terror", wirtschaftliche Globalisierung oder EU-Nachbarschaftspolitik – politische Entscheidungsträger stehen heutzutage vor vielfältigen Herausforderungen, die den Alltag vieler Bürger direkt betreffen. Politische Materien werden immer komplexer und drängender. Der Spielraum der Akteure in der Gesellschaft, im politischen System und auf internationaler Ebene ist eng. Kurze Wahlperioden erschweren Politikern häufig den Blick auf das Wesentliche. Vertreter der Wirtschaft müssen sich zunehmend politischen und ethischen Debatten stellen.

In einer vernetzten Welt wächst der Bedarf an langfristiger Strategieberatung und an wissenschaftlich begründeter Orientierungsleistung für Politik, Wirtschaft und Zivilgesellschaft. Wer schon heute Trends erkennt und Entscheidungen trifft, um Entwicklungen für die nächsten fünf bis zehn Jahre anzustoßen, kann nachhaltige Erfolge erzielen.


Bundeskanzlerin Dr. Angela Merkel und Prof. Dr. Werner Weidenfeld während des Internationalen Bertelsmann Forums 2006 in Berlin.

Dieser Herausforderung muss sich auch die Politikwissenschaft in Deutschland stellen. Sie verfügt über große Wissensreserven, ihr fehlt aber oft das nötige Vermittlungswissen, um zeitnah zur Lösung politischer Probleme beizutragen. Wissenschaftliche Politikberater müssen daher nicht nur Antworten auf theoretische Fragen, sondern auch Reformstrategien für die politischen Systeme der Gegenwart formulieren. So können sie wichtige Impulse in den demokratischen Entscheidungsprozess einbringen.

Als unabhängige Denkfabrik schließt das C·A·P mit seinem besonderen Arbeitsansatz der "angewandten Politikforschung" die Lücke zwischen Politik und Wissenschaft.

Das Centrum für angewandte Politikforschung ist eines der größten universitären Institute der Politikberatung zu europäischen und internationalen Fragen in Deutschland. Als Dach praxisorientierter Drittmittelforschung wurde es 1995 von Prof. Dr. Dr. h.c. Werner Weidenfeld am Lehrstuhl für Politische Systeme und Europäische Einigung des Geschwister-Scholl-Instituts für Politikwissenschaft der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München gegründet.

Seine operativen Mittel wirbt das C·A·P über Projekte und Partnerschaften mit Stiftungen, staatlichen Institutionen und Unternehmen ein. Es organisiert wissenschaftlichen Sachverstand, um Strategien und Optionen zu aktuellen Fragestellungen der Politik zu erarbeiten. Die Forschungsgruppen und vielfältigen Projekte des Centrums verbinden dabei die international und interdisziplinär angelegte Analyse mit konkreten Vorschlägen für die politische Praxis.

Mit diesem Ansatz berät das C·A·P Politiker bei Entscheidungen zu unterschiedlichen Themen. Zugleich vermittelt es seine Arbeitsergebnisse in Publikationen und über das Internet an die Öffentlichkeit und eine Vielzahl von Multiplikatoren.


Themen & Projekte >

Webdesign EGENCY München